MOTOR VEHICLES: Over weight fine under Section 304.2i0, Laws
of Mo., 1951, is minimum fine not maximum
and minimum fines are bracketed in accordance
with amount of overweighte.
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Honorable Cordon R. Joyer
Prosecuting Attorney
Barten County

Laner, Missouri

™ |
Jear Sir:

This office is in receipt of a request from
vyou for an official opinion, which is as follows:

"I have been advised by members of
the Stete Ilighway Patrol that Sec-
tion 304.2L0 hes been interpreted
to mean that in the event of an
over weight truck in excess of 1020
pounds the fine 1s 10¢ per pound
for the entire load.

"Por exemple I had a truck this
morning over weight 1100 pounds,.

I interpreted the fine to be ;10,00
for the first 500 _pounds, v25.00 for
the next 520 pounds and $10,00 for
the next 100 pounds, a total of

hS 00e TUnder the interpretation

of the Highwey Petrol the fine would
be $110,00 at the rate of 10¢ per
pound for each pound,

"Please advise me the correct in-
terpretetion of this section."

Section 304e2h0, Missouri Tevised Statutes, Cumula=
tive Supplement, 1951, reasds as follows:

"Any person, rirm, corporation,
partnership or association violating



Honorable Zordon . Toyer:

any of the provisions of sections
324.170 to 3754.230 shall be deemed
guilty of a misdemeanor and upon
conviction thereof shall he punish=

ed by a fine of not less than five
dollars or by imprisonment in a county
jail for 2 term of not exceeding twelve
months, or by both such fine and im=
prisonment; providsd, however, that
where load limits as defined in sections
304.180 to 304.220 have been vioclated,
the fine shall not be less than two
cents for each pound of excess welrh
up to and including Tive hundred, and
five cents for ~ach pound of excess
we.ht above five hundred and not ex=-
ceeding one thousand, and ten cents
for each pound in excesz welght above
one tiwousand; provided, thnt the court
may, in its discretion, cause to be
impounded the motor vehicle operated
by any person violating the provisions
of this section until such time as the
fine and cost assessed by the court
under this section is paid. (304.2.0,
A.,L. 1951 H.m, 325)",

It may be noted from the text of the above section
thet there is no maximum fine fixed by it. There is a maxi-
mum term of imprisonment which is to not exceed twelve months.

There 1s an express proviso in Section 304.2l0 to the
effect that where load limits are violated, the fine shall be
upon & rising scale, that is, not less than two cents per
pound for each pound of excess weight up to and including 590,
five cents for each pound of excess weiprht above 500 and not
exceeding 1,000, and ten cents for each pound of excess weight
above 1,79%. e understend by this that the Legislature in=-
tended to fix a minimum fine for overweight and to bracket
those fines in accordance with the extent of the overweight.
The anount of en overload certainly has a definite relation
to the culpability of the offense., The above section is
definite in each step of the upward scale in th-t it is
written "for each pound" and prescribes an amount for that
pound,

n State ex rel, vs, Vilde 00 Mo, Si concerning
In State ex rel, vs. ¥ilder, 206 Mo, Shl, z

the construction of statutes, the Court said, l.c. 549:

=l =



Yonorab¥e Gordon R. Boyer:

"# % # On the other hand, it is equally
well settled thest words and phrases shall
te taken in their plain or ordinary and
usual sense, and that it is incumbent
upon the courts to construe a statute as
written, without regard to the results

of the construction, or the wisdom of the
law as thus constructed. # # # "

The purnose of the statute seems to be to prohibit
the operation of overloaded vehicles upon the highways of
this state and to assess a fine in proportion to the extent
of the overweight.

Section 304,240, supra, provides only for minimum
fines., The only maximun provided was imprisonment in jail,
not exceeding twelve months, There 1is no attemnt to set
the exact amount that the court or jury may fine. Only
limitation upon the minimum amount of the fine is provided.

In other words, a minimum of 510.00 for tre first
£00 pounds, $25.00 for the next 597 pounds and ten cents
8 pound for each pound over 1,000 pounds,

CCHCLUSION.
Therefore, it is the opinion of this office that
Section 32h.240, A.L. 10951, H.B, 325, prescribes a minimum

fine for loed limit violations and brackets the fine in sc-
cordarce with the extent of the overweight.

Pespectfully submitted,
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J. E. TAYLOR,

Attorney General

JAMES V. FARIS
Assistant Attorney General
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